ISO 45001

The new Standard replacing OHSAS 18001

Occupational Health & Safety

Introduced in March 2018, ISO 45001 is designed to help organisations take a pro-active approach to their management of occupational health & safety. It replaces OHSAS 18001 which will be fully withdrawn in March 2021.

The ISO 45001 framework mitigates factors that cause harm by identifying risks and opportunities, managing those factors and creating a culture of wellbeing and support.


ISO 45001 is revolutionary. It provides the first-ever opportunity for a business to implement a truly international framework for Occupational Health & Safety Management.

ISO 45001 recognises the challenges faced by business leaders and provides a way to reduce risks to workers’ physical and mental wellbeing. It looks at how your Management System uses appropriate controls to keep workers, visitors and others safe from harm.

The Standard is not just about written policies – important as they are – it is about considering your organisation’s specific context in relation to occupational health & safety and how you respond to changing needs. It includes views of interested parties, ensuring everyone affected by your organisation’s activities feels confident that leaders are committed to getting health & safety right.

Centre for Assessment offers a robust, audit against the ISO 45001 Standard and, if your business has successfully implemented the framework, will provide official certification.

Who is this for?

ISO 45001 is available to practically any organisation, of any size and in any sector.

Compliance Officers, Health & Safety Co-ordinators and others responsible for the wellbeing of the company’s workforce/other interested parties should consider introducing ISO 45001. If you want to implement a robust framework for your occupational health & safety processes and ensure you comply with international legislation, ISO 45001 is for you.

ISO 45001 is particularly important for businesses that operate in high-risk environments. Companies that trade internationally or any supplier required to demonstrate a commitment to occupational health & safety should seriously consider using the Standard.


Features and Benefits

The ISO 45001 framework includes seven sections which are assessed during an audit. These sections are Context, Leadership, Planning, Support, Operation, Performance Evaluation and Improvement.

The potential benefits of implementing the ISO 45001 framework into your organisation are many. If you choose to move forward on a journey towards certification, you may be better able to:

  • reduce accidents, injuries and absenteeism arising from them;
  • reduce insurance costs and claims;
  • reduce costs associated with productivity issues;
  • increase awareness of risks and how they can be best managed;
  • provide an environment in which people feel safe to work;
  • create a culture of care for those affected by your business activities;
  • improve productivity by allowing people to take control of potential risks;
  • improve your reputation as an employee that truly values the wellbeing of its people;
  • improve staff morale with the knowledge that their concerns are being addressed;
  • ensure compliance against international legislation.
How we can help

Centre for Assessment is accredited by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS) to provide certification to ISO 45001, giving you the assurance of a value-adding, rigorous and beneficial audit against the framework.

With our experienced, expert team of auditors located across the UK and beyond, Centre for Assessment can meet your needs, supporting your journey towards achieving the quality mark. Although regulations do not allow us to offer our own advisory service, we do have a list of trusted, independent management consultants who can support your preparations for ISO 45001 audit and certification. However, we can provide a pre-assessment service.

Find out more:

Related services

Following the Annex SL format, ISO 45001 can be integrated with other management systems, such as ISO 9001 (quality management) and ISO 14001 (environmental management). Centre for Assessment can provide audits against several frameworks as a single project. Please get in touch to find out more.

Certification and audit process

  1. Initial thoughts: Firstly, you need to establish that ISO 45001 is the right fit for your organisation and, if so, what the scope of certification will be. Centre for Assessment will be happy to help you make these decisions.

  2. Preparation: You may choose to hire a consultant to help you design and implement your Occupational Health & Safety Management System. Centre for Assessment does not offer a consultancy service but can provide you with a list of our independent associates. You could use Centre for Assessment to provide a pre-assessment service. Alternatively, you may choose to move forward without seeking external support.

  3. Apply: Submit an application form on our website here.

  4. Quotation: Your application will be reviewed by a member of our Business Development team, who may need to call you to request further information before providing you with a no-obligation audit proposal.

  5. Accept: Review the proposal sent by Centre for Assessment and, if you are happy, sign and return the document to us.

  6. Make arrangements: You will be allocated a specialist, experienced auditor who will contact you to introduce themselves, discuss arrangements and book dates for the audit.

  7. Audit Stage One: The Stage One audit will involve a review of the documents relating to your Occupational Health & Safety Management System and a tour of your premises. Stage One also explores your readiness to move to Stage Two.

  8. Audit Stage Two: The Stage Two audit looks at the effectiveness of your Management System, ensuring it is successfully implemented and fully operational.

  9. Verification: Once the two stages are complete and any findings addressed, your auditor will recommend that Centre for Assessment awards ISO 45001 certification.

  10. Certification: Following a technical review by a decision-maker, you will be issued a certificate that is valid for three years. You can advertise the fact that you are certified to the Standard and use the ISO 45001 logo on your website etc.

  11. Annual Audit: At 12 and 24 months, review audits will be completed to ensure you are still compliant with ISO 45001. These will be arranged directly with your auditor.
News and blogs
Related courses
Level 2 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace
This course is open to anyone wishing to gain an understanding of good health and safety practice
Level 2 Award in Safe Moving and Handling
This course is suitable for any employee in order to raise their awareness of the hazards and risks involved in manual handling
Level 2 Award in Principles of HACCP
The Level 2 Award in Principles of HACCP is designed for those working or preparing to work in food businesses where a food safety management system based on Codex HACCP principles is implemented
Level 3 Award in HACCP for Food Manufacturing
Based on a one-day classroom based training programme, this qualification is designed to ensure candidates develop the required knowledge and practical skills to implement a HACCP plan in their workplace.